Two Osceola Students Named National Merit® $2,500 Scholarship Winners
Two Osceola Students Named National Merit® $2,500 Scholarship Winners
Posted on 05/14/2018
National Merit Scholarship Banner ImageThe National Merit Scholarship Corporation has announced two Osceola County students as National Merit $2,500 Scholarship winners:

-Luis Henrique Prado Cunha – Celebration High – Plans to attend Duke University

-Lynna Marie Morris – Celebration High – Plans to attend George Washington University

Luis and Lynna, along with the other 2,500 Merit Scholar designees across the nation, were chosen from a talent pool of more than 15,000 outstanding Finalists in the 2018 National Merit Scholarship Program. National Merit $2,500 Scholarship winners are the Finalists in each state judged to have the strongest combination of accomplishments, skills, and potential for success in rigorous college studies. These Scholars were selected by a committee of college admissions officers and high school counselors, who appraised a substantial amount of information submitted by both the Finalists and their high schools, including: the academic record, including difficulty level of subjects studied and grades earned; scores from two standardized tests; contributions and leadership in school and community activities; an essay written by the Finalist; and a recommendation written by a high school official.
This brings Celebration High’s National Merit scholarship winners to three students. Eric Dai, senior at Celebration High School, was previously announced in April as being among 34 Florida students who were awarded corporate-sponsored National Merit Scholarship awards this year.
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.