Amy Miller Named Osceola School District's 2017 Teacher of the Year
Amy Miller Named Osceola School District's 2017 Teacher of the Year
Posted on 03/04/2016
This is the image for the news article titled Amy Miller Named Osceola School District's 2017 Teacher of the YearIn recognition of her accomplishments as one of Osceola's most dynamic and well-respected teachers, Amy Miller, Kissimmee Elementary's math and science coach, has been named as Osceola School District's 2017 Teacher of the Year at an awards ceremony on March 4 hosted by the Education Foundation - Osceola. Mrs. Miller’s teaching and coaching reflect her dedication to academic excellence. At the same time, her experience and accomplishments, both as a model teacher and an instructional leader, are befitting for the district's Teacher of the Year distinction.

Each day, Mrs. Miller challenges students toward success as they become risk-takers with a passion for learning. On the 2014 Science FCAT assessment, Kissimmee Elementary showed higher gains than other elementary schools in the district. In addition, the school has seen a steady increase in student performance in the area of mathematics. Much of these gains are due to her thoughtful and deliberate planning and the relationships that she has been able to build and nurture with teachers.

Mrs. Miller's guidance and expertise for her students extend beyond the traditional school day. She works closely with several math teachers for after-school tutoring, providing additional resources and guidance for students needing intensive remediation. She herself voluntarily tutors fifth grade students three days a week after school. She also plans Parent Nights, and she coordinates the Science Olympiad team at her school, encouraging students to develop much-needed confidence in the area of science.

As Mrs. Miller has overcome personal obstacles in her own life, she serves as an inspiration to others. Mrs. Miller will now represent Osceola County at the state level in the Florida Department of Education/Macy's 2017 Teacher of the Year judging.
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.